Hungerford Bridge and Golden Jubilee Bridge
The Hungerford Bridge and the Golden Jubilee Bridge cross the River Thames close to Westminster Bridge. Hungerford Bridge was opened in 1845 as a suspension footbridge and is probably the ‘iron bridge’ that Charles Dickens refers to in his story ‘Little Dorrit’. In 1864, the bridge lost its chains and was rebuilt to allow trains to pass. In 2002, a new walkway was constructed to replace the bridge’s narrow pedestrian paths. This new bridge was named the Golden Jubilee Bridge in honour of the 50th anniversary of the reign of Elizabeth II.