St James’s Palace
St James’s Palace is one of London’s oldest palaces and is located on Pall Mall, just to the north of St James’s Park. The Palace was built by Henry VIII in 1530 on the site of a leper hospital. St James’s Palace became the main residence for the monarch in London after the Palace of Whitehall burnt down in 1698. However, it lost a great deal of influence when Queen Victoria decided to transfer the official residence of the British monarchy to Buckingham Palace.